About us

Our Background

Following the Engineering Council Act [Chapter27:22] becoming into operation mid March 2009, Government, through the Ministry of Public Works, appointed Councillors to oversee the functions of ECZ. Eng Dawson Mareya was the inaugural Chairman and deputised by Eng Daniel M Ncube.

Following appointment, Council embarked on the setting up of ECZ from scratch, i.e. getting the

statutory instrument in place, setting the agenda of ECZ through crafting of a business model and plan, setting tasks/ToR for Committees, recruitment of the Secretariat, e.t.c In April 2011, the CEO was appointed. Offices were established in May 2011 and recruitment of supporting staff and procurement of office equipment was accomplished by June 2011.

Meet Us

Our Executive Team/Secretariat

Dr. Eng. Ben Rafemoyo

Chief Executive Officer

Eng. Andrew Gwatidzo

Compliance & Inspectorate Manager

Mrs. Kuda Muchena

Finance & Admin Manager

Mrs. Nyashadzashe Mutonhori

Personal Assistant to CEO

Mrs. Precious Gwenhamo

Administrator (Registry)

Mr. Godfrey Timothy


Mr. Ignatious Chakanza